Lumpy Eggplant Vomit


The eggplant is a very daunting veggie to me.
I’ve never met an eggplant recipe I could replicate at home properly and please my family’s taste buds.
I can create eggplant glue, completely bone dried eggplants.

Yesterday was no exception. I borrowed the recipe from Epicurious.com (article extracted from May 2001)

The recipe is called Silky Eggplant Purée (it tasted like Lumpy Eggplant vomit)
Apparently, this was the sultan’s favourite recipe.
Not if he tried my version.
I will post pictures later today.

Ingredient list:

  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 large eggplant (1 1/2 pound)
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 3 tablespoons finely grated kasseri, pecorino fresco, or semihard sheep’s-milk cheese
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
Instructions:
Prepare grill for cooking.
Fill a large bowl with cold water and add lemon juice.
Prick eggplant in several places with a skewer or toothpick (to prevent bursting). Grill eggplant, turning occasionally, until charred all over and tender inside, about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and cool slightly (eggplant will collapse), then peel with a sharp small knife while still warm, leaving stem intact. (This makes the eggplant easier to handle—it may fall apart otherwise.)
Soak eggplant in lemon water 15 minutes, then transfer to a colander. Discard stem and drain eggplant flesh 45 minutes.
Melt butter in a 9- to 10-inch heavy skillet over moderate heat, then whisk in flour and cook, stirring constantly, until roux just begins to brown, 3 to 4 minutes. Add milk in a stream, whisking, and bring to a boil, whisking. Reduce heat and simmer, whisking occasionally, until thick, about 3 minutes.
Add drained eggplant and stir, mashing with a fork, until incorporated. Stir in cheese and salt and season with pepper.

Read More http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Braised-Lamb-Over-Silky-Eggplant-Puree-Sultans-Delight-105018#ixzz1iz756EGW

 
What went wrong:
The roux I was mandated with created ended up being this huge blob of dough.
The eggplant did not cook so well (it was not cooked evenly)
I was not able to remove all the seeds.  
The overall taste was deemed disgusting (Emilie gave it a zero, I gave it a 2 and my husband and Ben, both gave it a 1).
 
So, I dare you, please try it yourself. Let me know how it worked out for you.
 
And please, if you have eggplant recipes for me to try that are can’t miss, let me know.
Because as you can surely tell, I’m eggplant challenged. I wonder if I can park my car in special places now that I have an official disability! LOL.
 
 
4 thoughts on “Lumpy Eggplant Vomit

The floor is now open, you have the mike

