Spinach Kachori


First, let me say that the ultimate food combination always involves Spinach and Feta cheese. These two foods are soul mates. I thank God everyday for the Greeks and the Indians and their lovely food traditions. My conception of heaven is to sleep on clouds of feta, to walks in forests of Spinach, to bathe in lakes of raspberries and to live in mushroom houses. Did I mention I’m a little weird? But, I digress.

Spinach Kachori is a vegetarian dish from India.
The authentic version is fried but I wanted it baked.

Ingredients: 

2 cups of flour
1/2 cup of water (two portions of)
2 cups of olive oil
2 packages of fresh baby spinach
1 container of feta cheese
Curry powder
Garam Masala
Salt and pepper to taste

Cooking Instruction: 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Wash the spinach carefully
Cook the spinach with 1/2 cup of water
Drain the spinach and chop finely
Drain the feta cheese and chop finely
Stir fry the spinach with the feta cheese and all the spices

In a separate pot, blend the flour, the oil and water together until they form a dough (work in the flour) Liberally season with the curry powder, the garam masala and the salt and pepper.

Spread the dough on a cold counter top and layer in the spinach and feta mixture
Roll the dough and then cut the roll in half and then slice in small slices
Spread on non-stick paper and bake for  45 minutes
Spinach kachori

 The taste test: 
I loved the feta and spinach cookies but it lacked sufficient heat.
I should have cooked the spinach with onions and garlic as well as a small chili pepper de-seeded to add more Houmpf.

Let’s open the floor for discussion:

Do you have favorite food combinations that are better than spinach and feta?
What would your food heaven be like?
Are you tempted to try this recipe?
Are you freaked out by the quantity of oil in this recipe? (I know I was)

3 thoughts on “Spinach Kachori

      • I am like You, I like to be daring and healthy and free and happy… and wierd! I am thankful for You too, Cooksploratrice.

The floor is now open, you have the mike

