Empty Your Fridge Soup


I grew up on Empty your fridge soup.
The soup consists of basically all of the veggies that are not quite fresh enough to showcase on their own. It’s what my grandma used to do and my mom also does the same thing.

My empty your fridge soup of the week is filled with white navy beans, celery, fennel, onion and leaks. I just threw all these veggies in a pot with beef broth and simmered for 3 hours. I seasoned with paprika, cumin and turmeric to add some nice heat. I also incorporated some wasabi.

When you make empty your fridge soup, the house smells fantastic and it shows good food smarts as you avoid waste and ensure that the groceries you purchase end up where they should: in your families bellies.

I have no idea if the soup is good. I’ll let you know after I eat a bowl.

Let’s Open the Floor for Discussions

How do you empty your fridge?

Have you ever made empty your fridge soup?

If so, what are your seasonings of choice to give it more punch and to jazz it up?

What are some of your techniques to stretch out the groceries in order to get the most bang for your buck?

Do you use coupons?

How many grocery stores do you visit weekly?

Do you buy your meat at the butchers?

Do you one stop shop?

 

6 thoughts on “Empty Your Fridge Soup

The floor is now open, you have the mike

