Butterscotch Lady Fingers, or Not?


Tonight, I was super jazzed about making cookies for both CAE and Enterprise. My cookie run is expanding so I wanted to make a different kind of cookie. After having consulted with my wise beyond her years 8 year old daughter, we opted for butterscotch lady fingers. The recipe called for golden confectioners sugar. I had the regular kind. So I assumed that by putting the white confectioners sugar over a source of heat, the sugar would become golden and would end up with a definite butterscotch flavor. Like when you warm up coconut flakes, they become a lovely caramel color and how the flakes are naturally sweeter from the brief contact with heat.

Do things sometimes seem simpler in your head than in reality?

Boy was I wrong!
To my sheer horror, the sugar melted into hot candy. I tried to turn the candy into icing and the clumps stuck like glue to the pan as well as to the mixer. I had to boil 4 kettles of water to melt away the sugary glue.

My first inter-company cookie run was not off to a good start.

I now know that seasoned cooks make mistakes all the time.
And less seasoned cooks even more so.
I’m always very upset when I cannot seem to cook something properly.
Especially if my kids do not love the taste.

When kitchen disasters strike, you need to learn to improvise and to turn that frown upside down.
A bad cookie batch sucks, true, but, if you can fix your cookies with some sprinkles or some chocolate chips, people will be none the wiser, as long as you don’t tell them that is.

Tonight, I took the cookie dough recipe from the butterscotch lady fingers recipe and threw in some chocolate chips.

So, I did not make the cookies I wanted to bake. Nor did I make a lovely batch of cookies. I messed up royally and camouflaged it with some chocolate chips. But, on the positive side, I can only improve moving forward.

Fun fact:
For my blog, I wanted a chocolate chip camouflage picture and I discovered it’s a real thing. Soldiers wear chocolate chip camouflage in the army. When will they start wearing golden confectioners sugar camouflage?

One thought on “Butterscotch Lady Fingers, or Not?

  1. Just wish to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in
    your submit is simply spectacular and that i can
    assume you’re a professional in this subject. Fine along with your permission let me to clutch
    your feed to stay updated with imminent post. Thanks one million and please
    carry on the gratifying work.

The floor is now open, you have the mike

