Do the Oscars really reflect the movies we like to watch?


Every time I look at the Oscar ballot, I’m surprised by the number of movies I have NOT seen. I find the Oscars are very artsy and do not reflect the movies I love to watch. I did not see the Help, I wanted to see Hugo but it did not stay in theaters long enough. I’m fairly certain the Artist is not a movie I would watch until the end (a silent movie is very difficult to watch) So, my question is, do you feel the same? Did you see any of the movies on the Oscar ballot? Vote and we’ll discuss. 

Why did Tintin not get nominated as best animated feature?

2 thoughts on “Do the Oscars really reflect the movies we like to watch?

  1. I think it is the same each year, what they look for in a movie to be Oscar material has nothing to do with if we would actually enjoy watching it. We know what we like and that is why we don’t get a vote.

The floor is now open, you have the mike

