Davey’s Flapjacks


Chuck Hugues, of the Garde-Manger and Bremmel restaurants, provided a recipe as a treat to David Desharnais, a hockey player for the Montreal Canadiens.

David Desharnais "Davey"

Now, I have no real interest in Hockey. But, I glanced upon the latest issue of the Canadiens magazine (magazine devoted to the local hockey team) and happened upon the Chuck Hugues recipe for flapjacks. Chuck Hugues is a star on food network as well as a local restaurateur. I dream of trying his two restaurants: le Garde-Manger et Le Bremmel.

He has also published a cookbook which is on my wishlist from amazon.ca.

I typically read on my Kindle and purchase my books through Amazon.com but they do not carry this book which makes sense since it has not been translated to English.

But, I digress. All this to say I wanted to try Chuck Hugue’s recipe.

As you also known, in the cooksploratrice household, Sunday mornings, we make pancakes or crepes. I have never made flapjacks before.

Ingredients:

2 cups of flour

2 cups of milk

6 tablespoons of brown sugar

2 teaspoons of  sodium bicarbonate

4 teaspoons of baking powder

6 tablespoons of melted butter

Instructions: 

Mix all ingredients until the mixture becomes frothy

Heat a pan on the stove top, grease with Pam

Drop 1/3 cup of mixture onto the pan and wait until bubbles start to form

Flip the flapjack for 1 minute so that both sides become nice and golden

The reviews

Ben: “I prefer your usual pancakes”

Greg: “I like these a lot”

Emilie: “I’m sick of pancakes”

Myself: “It tastes sweeter like desert and not like a breakfast at all. I loved how frothy the mixture was but I still prefer my classic pancakes”

What is the recipe for my usual pancakes: 

2 cups of milk

2 cups of flour

1 egg

1 tablespoon of vanilla extract

0-2 teaspoons of baking powder (depending on my desire for either pancakes or crepes)

As a special note: you can also play with the type of flour to get a different result (buckwheat alone, buckwheat with all purpose flour, rice flour) With corn flour, you would be creating a tortilla

 

The floor is now open, you have the mike

