Maintaining your weight and writing a food blog, natural frenemies


When I started blogging,  I got into pastry. I loved to bake cookies.

And I ate what I baked in order to provide a review.

I ate for the pleasure of eating and not only for sustenance.

You can get away with that sometimes but not all the time.

The end result: an excuse to go shopping but not in the positive sense.

I was also so focused on writing which also means staying seated. it’s no excuse but I would basically: work, blog, play with the kids, watch TV, sleep and do it all over again. Maybe, some days, I would walk the dog.

So the bulge kept piling on and on and on.

I’m writing this so I will not forget how I feel when I stop moving. I feel so tired. The elevators seem like God’s greatest invention. When I do move, I have more energy and I am less stressed.

I went for a jog tonight. A 4K loop. My face is redder than a hothouse tomato (a reference to food, it fits with my blog) I smell like a dead skunk. (a reference to an animal that might be food in some weird corners of the Bible belt, it fits with my blog) I did not run like a gazelle. I huffed and I puffed …but I did not blow your house down.

Hot House Tomato

My plan will be to workout a little each day. My blog will be my diary for my workouts. I challenge myself to a 10K run by September…say the Army run. I will sign up for 5K runs along the way. Anybody with me?

ps: I’ll also talk about the nice veggies and white meat that I cook. I’ll focus on more savory lean foods and less on slowly cooked comfort foods. It’s fun for a while but it’s not ideal for the silhouette.

Vision of the Army Run Race

But first, a shower is a must. Catch you on the other side, when I’ll be less smelly and more rosy instead of red.

A much needed shower for a stinker

 

8 thoughts on “Maintaining your weight and writing a food blog, natural frenemies

  1. I walk everyday. I got the BMW (Bus Metro Walk) and I walk a good part of the way home after work on most weekdays and hikied a few mountains in Québec and went hiking in the Adirondaks once already. I like walking / hiking even before my rapidly curing ankle injury. It is a Great way to meet merchants and get familiar with the city. I can change routes and BM part of the way home and W another part ect. The possibilities are endless , dear Cookspi.

  2. I have also found that I have added a little to my middle these days and I know that I control what I cook and eat. Got to make sure I cut back on some carbs and eat a little less at dinner. Got back into my workout routine today and I have to keep it up at least three days per week. Blogging is great but got to stay fit as well.
    Good luck, you can do it.

The floor is now open, you have the mike

