My current read: Lullabies for Little Criminals, Heather O’Neill


I am trying to read books outside my comfort zone in order to stretch my mind.
This would not be a book I would have been naturally inclined to pick up.

Lullabies for little criminals from Heather O’Neill is my current read.

Here is the book description:
At thirteen, Baby vacillates between childhood comforts and adult temptation: still young enough to drag her dolls around in a vinyl suitcase yet old enough to know more than she should about urban cruelties. Motherless, she lives with her father, Jules, who takes better care of his heroin habit than he does of his daughter. Baby’s gift is a genius for spinning stories and for cherishing the small crumbs of happiness that fall into her lap. But her blossoming beauty has captured the attention of a charismatic and dangerous local pimp who runs an army of sad, slavishly devoted girls—a volatile situation even the normally oblivious Jules cannot ignore. And when an escape disguised as betrayal threatens to crush Baby’s spirit, she will ultimately realize that the power of salvation rests in her hands alone.

Lullabies for Little criminals by Heather O’Neill as sold on Amazon.com

My impression so far: I have a love hate relationship with this story. I hate the topic but the prose is beautiful. Baby, the main protagonist, is an odd egg but she sees beauty in unexpected things. The dad is completely flawed and the portrayal of the dad rings through. This book feels like a true story, like a memoir. I’ll discuss this more in-depth when I’m done with the book.

The floor is now open, you have the mike

