My current Read: Eat, Pray, Love


Eat, Pray, Love as sold on Amazon.com

Currently, since I’m on a journey of discovery, I want to read about people’s journeys. But, I’m looking for positive journeys. Not something dark and dreary. It can start from a dark place but then, needs to quickly turn to personal growth and something positive. I do not want a book that puts me in a funk if I’m focusing on my happiness.

I picked Eat, Pray, Love because who would not like to put their life on hold for a while and visit three different countries and learn all there is to learn about themselves by doing so. I’d also seen the movie. So I knew what to expect.

The movie, starring Julia Roberts, made 175 million dollars at the box office. 9 million copies worldwide of the book have been sold. Countless trips to Italy, India and Indonesia have been sold.

My initial take on the book is positive. So far, she separates from her husband, meets and breaks up with her rebound guy and then leaves on this tour. The emotional turmoil seems authentic.

The book is a lot more spiritual than I anticipated but it’s not a bad thing. The description of the depth of her despair at the start of the book are beautifully worded and you feel great empathy for her plight. As I read through the pages, I see her becoming stronger and stronger. I feel the book is much better than the movie. The pace is not super fast but you cannot speed growth.

I like it but it’s not keeping me on the edge of my seat. I do not want to read through the night.

I’m already on the lookout for the next read. Do you have good journey books to recommend? Do you have your own journey you would like to discuss?

2 thoughts on “My current Read: Eat, Pray, Love

The floor is now open, you have the mike

