Cooksploratrice and The Producer Movie Review: Hansel and Gretel


Hansel and Gretel Movie Review

Setting: Under a big down blanket
Menu: Two glasses of water before bed
Background noise: the light snoring of my son
Date: Friday, January 25, 2013

Hansel and Gretel Fairy Tale

Moderator Question: What was your initial take on the film prior to seeing it?
C: The movie reminded me of Van Helsing. I love anything with vampires and witches. If it’s supernatural, I love it. Plus, it looked like a funny corny movie about witches with too much blood. I also love the Hansel and Gretel fairy tale. I thought it would make a good mix. I expected the movie to be the good kind of bad movie.
P: I wanted to see the movie. I was intrigued by the preview. Hansel and Gretel is part of the fairy tales that were read to me by my parents as a child. Also, as usual, I wanted to make cooksploratrice happy. She loves witches, vampires and werewolves.
Moderator Question: Did you see the movie in Ultra AVX 3D?
C: Yes, we sure did.
P: Yes, I got an aisle seat which meant I could stretch my long legs.
Moderator Question: How did you appreciate the 3D technology in this movie?
C: I loved the 3D in this movie. It highlighted key points of the story but it did not overpower the story.
P: I enjoyed it very much. It did not strain the eyes or give me a headache. I even forgot I was wearing the 3D glasses. At one point, I had to duck because a sword was coming straight at me.
Moderator Question: Will you buy the movie for your Blu Ray Collection?
C: Because it has witches in it and was kind of funny, yes I would. I see myself watching this movie on a lazy Saturday afternoon with some nice buttery pop-corn.
P: Yes
Moderator Question: Should I see the movie in theaters or wait for the Blu Ray?
C: If you’re not a huge fan of the genre, I would wait for the Blu Ray or DVD.
P: Both
Moderator Question: Tell me about the story.

Hansel and Gretel

P: Hansel and Gretel follow their father into the woods. His aim is to leave them there and never to return. They spend a long night in the woods and come across a home that is covered in candy. They confront and face their first witch. They emerge victorious. From that point forward, they make their living as bounty hunters killing witches. As the blood moon approaches, they are hired by a town, Augsburg, to retrieve children that have gone missing and to eliminate the witches preying on the small town. They are up against Muriel, the great dark witch, who requires one more child and the blood of the great white witch in order to create a potion which would immunize witches from the threat of flames.
C: During the course of the story, they revisit their past. This retelling of the Hansel and Gretel story is much sweeter than the original fairy tale by Jacob (1785–1863) and Wilhelm Grimm (1786–1859) in 1812.
Moderator Question: Tell me about the pace.
C: The pace of the story is nice and sedate at first but the last twenty minutes of the movie go by way too quickly. The plot is tied up much too quickly at the end. The movie is 1 hour and 22 minutes long which is a bit short compared to most movies nowadays.
P: I felt it was a great introduction into the lives of Hansel and Gretel and into the life of witches. I thought they finished the movie too quickly (the confrontation between the coven of dark witches and H&G lasts no more than 10 minutes.
Moderator Question: What was your favorite moment in the movie?
C: I much enjoyed Famke Jenssen. I think she shone in every scene. Her character is so cool and she is a much better actress than I thought.

The Great Dark Witch Muriel

P: When Gretel meets the villagers of Augsburg and breaks the sheriff’s nose. Her confidence is lovely to behold.

Gretel in front of the villagers

Moderator Question: How different is it from the original fairy tale?
C: Hansel and Gretel are not victims but heroes.
P: The plot is quite different from the original tale. I enjoyed the treatment of the parent’s. I will not tell you what is different because I do not want to spoil the surprise.
Moderator Question: Which character was your favorite and why?
C: Muriel, she’s so evil and she enjoys it. I also liked the troll. I disliked Hansel’s love interest though. The chemistry between the two felt fake.
P: Gretel. She is pretty, she is strong and her outfits are absolutely sexy.
Moderator Question: Mr. Producer, we know how much you like music. What did you think of the soundtrack?
P: The Witch Hunters song was supervised by the legendary Hanz Zimmer. However, I will need to listen to the sound track separately in order to really provide an honest appraisal. The only thing I noticed was the introductory song Witch Hunters. The rest of the soundtrack did not strike me in any way. The score was composed by Atli Örvarsson who is a member of Remote Control Productions, founded Hanz Zimmer.
C: I felt the dark forest and the scenery from Potsdam-Babelsberg and Braunschweig contributed more to the story than the soundtrack.
Moderator Question: What’s your overall appreciation of the movie?
C: I give it a 4. I enjoyed the comedic and whimsical elements, the fighting scenes, the scenery as well as the special effects. I laughed, I jumped out of my seat, I was compelled. I hope this starts a trend of movies based on Grimm tales. I also enjoyed the makeups and the portrayal of witches.

The witch in all her fierce glory

P: I give it a 3.5. A good flick with enough action, a little blood, a little T&A, I enjoyed the scenery.
Moderator Question: Which movie do you look forward to seeing next?

C: Jack and the Giant Slayer

P: G.I. Joe: Retaliation

The floor is now open, you have the mike

