My visit to an Eastern Medicine Man


My friends, the things I do for you.
Two days ago, we realized my foot was in bad shape. Really bad shape.
My customer indicated he could take me to his medicine man in Upper Paya Lebar Road.

Siah Ah Cheok is a Chinese Sin-Seh.
A Sin-Seh is a bone doctor. Similar to a chiropractor in the US and in Canada.
So we hop into a cab and head to the Sin-Seh office.
You cannot get an appointment, it’s on a first come, first serve basis.

We get there and the place is packed. Of course, I am the sole Caucasian in the small establishment. After about an hour we are taken to the Sin-Seh.

He lays me down on a table and aligns the right and left foot. My left foot has a slant due to the sprain and it’s horribly swollen. Via a manipulation (he took my left foot and positioned it how it’s meant to be), he made it better. However, the pain level was extreme. He pressed down on my injured swollen foot. Hard.

Then, to reduce the swelling, he pricked my ear with a long needle.

I screamed like a little girl. My body was drenched in sweat. Then, he took something hard and rubbed it all over my foot. Then, he made me walk. OUCH!

But, my foot feels much better now. I go back tomorrow for my next appointment.

Do you believe in Eastern Medicine? Would you have tried a Chinese Sin-Seh? Do you like that I explore the medicinal aspect in my travels as well as cuisine and the people?

5 thoughts on “My visit to an Eastern Medicine Man

  1. Of course we (I) like to read about all your adventures (food, travel, people, drinks, party). I now understand/realize that it’s a completely different culture on the other side of the world… But to be honest, this one about your sprain ankle stresses me out a lot. I hope that Siah Ah Cheok will do another magic trick on your ankle and you will be fine for the rest of your trip in Singapore.

The floor is now open, you have the mike

