IPAD App Idea


When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.
Last night, the eve of my medical repatriation, we visited Little India in Singapore. In a wheelchair, Little India is a nightmare. The sidewalks are uneven with deep trenches. My foot kept getting hurt. When we finally succeeded in leaving Little India, it was a total relief. Now, imagine a tourist with only a few days to spare in a new city. Would he not want to do a tour of the city by doing activities that will be easily accessible via wheelchair.

My idea for the app would be to create a map of a city indicating hotels, restaurants, landmarks that will allow the handicapped (whether permanently or temporarily) to safely visit a city without risking further injury.

I would like to call my app the Independent Motorist Maps (for those that have their own wheels)
You would type a city name receive itineraries by theme and also receive a beware section which would indicate the least friendly locations. We would also lobby the least friendly organizations to improve their services for the handicapped. If judged acceptable by an independent motorist, the establishment might end up in an itinerary the following year.

Travel guides do not typically offer such information.

What do you think of my idea? Does it have potential? Which city should I create first? Since I am from Montreal, should I start by my home town?

The floor is now open, you have the mike

