My Thoughts On Singapore Culture


I have been here two weeks.
I am headed home tomorrow morning.
After countless conversations with numerous Singaporeans (Malay, Chinese, Pakistani), I feel I am no closer to learning the Singapore culture than I was before getting here. Singapore presents its best foot forward but does not let you peak behind the curtains. I feel like I’ve seen the façade but was not able to see beyond.

This city and its people remain a mystery. When I come back in May, I will probe deeper.

Singaporeans have deep family values, believe in excellence in schools, believe in the government and perceive governmental policies in a positive light, they work long hours, consumerism runs rampant, fashion is extremely important here. This is what I have learned.
It’s so little.

But I do wonder, is there anything behind the façade?

The floor is now open, you have the mike

