Traveler’s Tip: Multiple Flight legs and checking luggage


On my way to Singapore, I checked my luggage in Montreal.
My flight was Montreal to Vancouver, Vancouver to Hong Kong, sleep one night in Hong Kong and fly to Singapore the next day. As you can see, it’s a fairly long commute conducted through Cathay Pacific.

Here’s what I did not know: when you check your luggage, you pick it up at your final destination. If you have a layover in an interim destination, you will not have access to your luggage.

I did not know this and so I spent two days in the same smelly clothes.

So, my traveler’s tip for multiple flight legs and layovers: carry some spare underwear, socks and shirts in your handbag. You will thank me for this.

The floor is now open, you have the mike

