Size does not matter…


20130424-080544.jpg

This boot is both a boon and a bane. It will accompany me for 4 more weeks (minimum) It is with me in my sleep, in both the quiet moments as well as the hustle and bustle of the evenings (my day’s are quiet). It protects my foot but it is literally a ball and chain attached to my foot. We have a love & hate relationship, the boot and I.

The X-Ray from Singapore and from last Thursday indicate complete lack of progress.
My metatarsal remains broken with the same 3 millimetre gap in between as before.
All this pain and recuperation time for three millimetres. Size does not matter, this is my new motto.

We will now try electrical therapy to stimulate bone growth.
Should this succeed, I will avoid surgery.
I say should but I will see the glass half full.
It will succeed and I will avoid surgery.

So my mission is to be stress free, to soak-in the sun, to sleep lazily in the afternoon’s to allow myself to recuperate.
I will send you a picture of the new machine as soon as I get it. I will also provide you with feedback as to the feeling of the electroshocks on my foot.

X marks the spot. This is the target spot for electricity.

20130424-081927.jpg

I promise to write about fun stuff as well.

CORRECTION: the technology we will use is low intensity pulsed ultrasounds to stimulate bone growth. Here is the treatment definition: Low-intensity pulsed ultrasound aims to speed up fracture healing in broken bones by stimulating bone cells to grow and repair. This involves a short daily treatment using an ultrasound probe that is placed on the skin at the site of the fracture. In my case, it’s supposed to be 20 minutes a day (for up to 12 weeks)

The floor is now open, you have the mike

