Making Books come to Life with Google Images-Panoramio


As you know, I’ve started reading the Ice Princess by Camilla Lackberg. It’s actually the first of nine books she’s written. I plan on reading the eight others in short order.

She’s more  prolific than Stieg Larsson who is well known for his Millenium Series which was even made into multiple movies. I loved the The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Hollywood version) where the main characters were interpreted by Rooney Mara and Daniel Craig, I preferred it to the Danish version where the protagonists were interpreted by Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist. What about you? Did you prefer the Danish version or the Hollywood version? Why?

The locale for the Millenium Series is Hedeby Island, Sweden.

Hedeby Island

Hedeby Island

But I digress. Back to Camilla and the Ice Princess. And no, this is not a slur on the Duchess of Cornwall. I am referring to Camilla Lackberg, the Swedish author and not the princess consort. My brain is like a maze today, very chaotic.

The murder occurs in sleepy fishing village turned touristy summer destination Fjalbacka, Sweden in the dead of Winter.  Olof Lagerkvist took plenty of pictures of Fjalbacka on Panoramio. I took the liberty of putting some of the pictures on this page. Olof, I hope that’s Ok? I tagged you so that it might potentially increase the trafic to your Panoramio pages.

The village is as much a character in the book as are Erica Falck, Alex Wijkner (the unfortunate victim), Detective Inspector Mellberg and Patrick.

When I read a book, to really transport myself into the narration, to immerse myself in  the atmosphere of the book, to feel the lack of sunlight, the desolation, the loneliness, the remoteness, I like to look at images on Google Images, Panoramio, Pinterest or Flicker. It allows me to set the foundation upon which my imagination can expand and then the book becomes an amazing 3D tale in my mind. I see myself surrounded by white and small fishing houses. I see rock outcroppings everywhere.

Actually, the author’s site (http://www.camillalackberg.com/) is pretty nifty and provides you with all sorts of information. For example, I discovered that Fjalbacka was Ingrid Bergman’s favorite spot on earth. Ingrid Bergman is a Swedish actress of Casa-Blanca fame.

See below. Smell the North Sea. Feel the Wind on your skin. Brew a hot chocolate. Put on some Nordic Folk music. Put on a beige trench coat and take out a small note pad. You will become the detective in the story.

Listen to this entrancing song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOud7nOIdds by Trinity.

Fjällbacka Winter

Fjällbacka Winter

Fjällbacka Water Front

Fjällbacka Water Front

Fjällbacka in the winter at Dusk

Fjällbacka in the winter at Dusk

The imposing rocky outcrop that the village encircles

The imposing rocky outcrop that the village encircles

Do you do the same? Do you Google earth the spot where the action in a book takes place? Or do you consider this to be cheating? Do you prefer to let the author transport you to a destination with their words alone? Let’s discuss this. I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

The floor is now open, you have the mike

