50 Shades of Bland


Ok! After countless weeks, I gave in to pop culture and purchased 50 Shades of Grey.

I’ll let you in on a little secret, I love to read romance novels and most romance novels get quite steamy, so much so that they work wonders for couples looking to kindle a flame or keep their fire burning bright.

50 Shades of Grey did not even spark the slightest interest for me and I love to read a risqué novel every now and then. It’s a guilty secret of mine.

The only fun part is that Christian Grey is super loaded and treats his lady to the nicest things. Other than that, Anabelle Steel is whiny and unsure of herself. She’s a sniveling brat.  Their romance felt flat.

We are far from more adroit writings à la Lolita, Dangerous Liaisons, Moll Flanders, Fanny Hill, etc. There is also excellent erotic literature for women written by women in the Black Lace collection that I would highly recommend.

Back to 50 Shades, there is nothing new about this book, nothing slightly interesting. Total BOREDOM.  Instead of burning my loins, I wish I could burn every hum drum page.

I would recommend the writings of J.R. Ward, Courtney Milan, Eloisa James, Sherrilyn Kenyon to read excellent romance novels that pack a huge punch of steam. But for real erotica, black lace is ideal. It’s much better and steamier. The writing is superb, the descriptions are vidid and rich, the passion jumps out of the pages.

50 Shades of Grey by E L James             

 

The floor is now open, you have the mike

