An Interview With Bella Forrest


Since Bella had shared her Shade of Vampire book with me, I had her in my grasp.

ShadeofVampire

I took the opportunity to ask her a few questions in order to get a better sense of who she is and how she wrote “A Shade of Vampire”

Question: Tell me a little about yourself Bella?

Answer: I’m an avid reader, a big fan of cookie ice cream and I’m often travelling.When working I have to disconnect the internet for fear of being endlessly distracted by websites such as www.icanhas.cheezburger.com.

I can Has Cheezburger? One of Bella Forrest's guilty pleasures.

I can Has Cheezburger? One of Bella Forrest’s guilty pleasures.

Question: When did your life as a writer start?

Answer: I guess my life as a writer started when I was five; I’d sit under the kitchen table with my box of multi-colored wax crayons (I miss those) and create picture books. Creative writing was always my favorite subject and I used any free time I had to sit down with a notepad. Not much has changed, except that now I have developed vampirish habits: my writing “day” typically starts at 1am.

Question: Can we get a picture of you?

Answer: Unlike the beautiful girl on my cover, I’m camera-shy…

Question: If we want to know more about your world and what’s going on with you, where should we go?

Answer: If you want to stay informed about my latest book releases, sign up for email updates here: www.forrestbooks.com, and visit my website: www.bellaforrest.net

Question: What inspired you to create the Shade universe? Who was your inspiration for Derek Novak, prince of the Shades and of the vampires?

Answer: My answer to both of these questions is similar: I’m honestly not sure what/who the direct inspiration was. The idea for The Shade just popped into my head one day, so I sat down at my computer and everything developed organically from there.

Question: Was this story easy to write for you?

Answer: Yes, the story did flow quite easily because I was excited to explore these new characters.

Cooksploratrice note: As you know, I am also writing a book Tumbleweed but I have a love-hate relationship with the story which does not incite me to write all the time. It’s a bit painful at times. It seems that Bella was blessed with a story that did not bring a mixed bag of emotions with it.

Question: Could you describe the process? Such as where you wrote the book mainly?

Answer: Nowhere too fancy: just in a comfortable chair at my desk. 🙂

Question: In the mornings or in the evenings?

Answer: My favorite time to work is from about 1am to 7am.

Cooksploratrice note:Those hours are reserved for bed time for me. I’m not a night owl. Methinks Bella Forrest is a bit of a vampire herself maybe not from a nutritional aspect but from a waking hours aspect.

Question: What music did you listen to?

Answer: Wow, the list of songs is long. I’m actually in the process of compiling the playlist and plan to post it on my website.

Question: Which beverages did you drink?

Answer: I drink either water or fruit tea!

Cooksploratrice Note: I would think the fruit tea would be cranberry or raspberry flavoured to ensure a deep red hue touches Bella’s creative lips. If I’m wrong, no matter, that is how I will imagine it nonetheless.

Thank you Bella for sharing a bit of yourself with the cooksploratrice community.

And to all of you, I wish a Happy Friday. This was a sentence that Joe Dongarra from Tenrox used to say and it was always a joy to hear at the water cooler. Joe, I salute you.

 

The floor is now open, you have the mike

