Make the Ordinary Extraordinary


Omelets in muffin tins, a superb idea

Omelets in muffin tins, a superb idea

It’s Sunday lunch time and the fridge is full. There are a few things I want to clean out of the fridge as we get ready to start the new week. I have three baby potatoes and a few slices of ham left over. I decide to make an omelet. Now, to be honest, in my household omelets are not well perceived (I have made too many unfortunate misses in the omelet genre of cooking for my family to say “Wow! Omelets”) 

I sliced up the baked baby potatoes into thin slivers and sliced the ham into thin slivers as well. I whisked-in 8 eggs and added just enough milk to get a lovely creamy yellow. Then, I went into my herb garden and added some sliced chives. I then took a quarter of a cup of the mixture and put it into an individual muffin tin. I baked at 375 for about 25 minutes. After 10 minutes, we added in the cheese and the paprika. 

A little cheese, a little paprika for an Omelet makeover

A little cheese, a little paprika for an Omelet makeover

We let the omelet continue cooking for 15 more minutes after a bit of gratin. 

Cooked but not plated, don't they look good?

Cooked but not plated, don’t they look good?

Once they look about like this, broil them for 2 more minutes.

Mrs. Omelet is ready for her close-up! Say Cheese for the camera!

Mrs. Omelet is ready for her close-up! Say Cheese for the camera!

This is when the omelets will be camera-ready. 

3 creamy egg baskets are ready to be eaten.

3 creamy egg baskets are ready to be eaten.

On a plate, they look gorgeous. They taste great. They were inexpensive to make but it is not apparent on the plate.

This is the bouquet of eggs that look good enough to eat.

This is the bouquet of eggs that look good enough to eat.

My son and husband loved the omelets made this way. They said this would even be a great tapas to serve at one of my fancy dinners. 

Served with a green salad, this was the perfect Sunday lunch and it cleared out my fridge of a few left-overs. 

The presentation is the key. If I had served this in an omelet, they would have found it to be quite bland. It’s important to remember that we eat first with our eyes. Please the eyes and the stomach will follow. 

Happy Monday to one and to all. 

The floor is now open, you have the mike

